Keynsham Good Citizen Award

The Keynsham Good Citizen Award was set up by the Town Council in 2007 and is aimed at recognising those residents of Keynsham who give up their time voluntarily to provide support, services, activities or other works which benefit both the town and residents. To qualify for an award the person must be a Keynsham resident and nominated by someone who is not a relative of the candidate. The nomination must also be seconded.

This year's nomination period ends on the Wednesday 28th February 2018 after which the Council considers the nominations. Winners are then presented with a framed certificate and £100 for the charity/ group of their choice at the Annual Keynsham Town Meeting.

You can submit an online nomination or if you prefer to complete a written nomination you can download a form here or collect one from the Keynsham Town Council Offices.

Nominate Online Now

For further information please contact Keynsham Town Council 15-17 Temple Street, Keynsham, Bristol BS31 1HF | Tel: 0117-9868683 | email

2017 Winners

Barrie Dunn, Keynsham Scouts and Councillor Lisa O'Brien (Chair)       Denise James, KIB and Councillor Lisa O'Brien (Chair)

Dave Johnson, Walkers Are Welcome

2017 - Barrie Dunn - awarded for 40 years of involvement with Scouting in Keynsham and in honour of his loyalty to the young people of Keynsham. Denise James - for being the driving force of Keynsham In Bloom and who steered the town towards gold in the South West in Bloom competition. David Johnson - for his lead and establishment of Keynsham Walkers are Welcome which has become a very successful and popular group.


2015 Ric Davison

2016 - Ric Davison - Keynsham Music Festival co-ordinator and Keynsham Community Radio presenter and Arts Consortium co-ordinator, a role in which he has brought a number of productions and performers to The Space.


2015 Mr Bassam Shahin (left) and Mr Ian Carter (right) were awarded Keynsham Good Citizen Awards. 
Chairman of the Council Cllr. Clive Fricker (center) presented them with their award at the Annual Town Meeting. 

2015Ian Carter has been involved with the 1st Keynsham Scouts for 50 years and he joined the Cubs in 1963. He now helps oversee a group that caters for 300 young people and has around 100 adult leaders and volunteers. A cheque for £100 was awarded to the Keynsham Explorer Scouts unit in memory of Ian's grandfather. Bassam Shahin has been involved with the Keynsham Allotment Association for 29 years, in which time he helped form the Association, managed the award winning Park Road allotment site and supported other gardeners. 


2014 John Aldridge, Sheila Crocombe, Grace O'Hara and Yvonne Knight

2014 - John Aldridge for his dedication and work supporting Keynsham and organisations connected to the town particularly 1st Keynsham Scout Group who he has been involved with for 25 years. Also Keynsham Wildlife and Keynsham Music Festival. Sheila Crocombe for her willing work and dedication to the community of Keynsham for many years and in many ways, particularly Transition Keynsham & Keynsham Action Network, delivering Town Council Arts Newsletters and running Maths Club at Community@67 and her tireless work for the former Keynsham Community Association.  Grace O'Hara for her commitment and dedication as a volunteer with Keynsham & District Mencap Society. Grace joined as a volunteer aged 14 at the Keynsham Juniors Club for Children with Learning Disabilities and is an outstanding young person who is an inspiration to others and increases the confidence and self worth of those with learning disabilities. Yvonne Knight for her dedication to help other people to live a better life to help disabled through her teaching swimming at Keynsham Disabled Swimming Club since the early 1980's, and her work with Keynsham Seals in particular. Yvonne works tirelessly to provide disabled children and adults with swimming on a Sunday morning at Keynsham Leisure Centre.


2012 - Anita Burford (for her tireless voluntary work and support for St. Keyna Primary School (previously Temple Primary School). 

2011 - Phyllis Cook (for her work and involvement with the Keynsham South Forum), Iris Lerpiniere (for, amongst other things, her work with Keynsham Civic Society) and Vivienne Townsend (who had worked as a volunteer for many years at St. Keyna Primary School). 

2010 - Delia Luke (for her work with the Girlguiding Movement in particular the Keynsham Section).

2009 - Mr David Sage (his involvement with the Avon Wildlife Trust), Mrs Margaret Whitehead (work on the Abbey and Keynsham & Saltford History Society), Mrs Barbara Lowe (work for saving the Augustine Abbey) and Mr Russell Leitch (for photographs he had taken on the changing face of Keynsham since the early 1960's). 

2008 - Mrs Charlaine Fleck (work for the Keynsham Fair Trade Group), Mrs Dawn Elmer (work for TGI Friday Kidz Club, Keynsham)  and Mr Neil Jacks (work with the Friends of Manor Road Community Woodland). 


Back to top